Meaningful Use Eligibility

Meaningful Use Eligibility

Medicare Eligible Professionals:

  • Doctor of medicine or osteopathy
  • Doctor of dental surgery or dental medicine
  • Doctor of podiatry
  • Doctor of optometry
  • Chiropractor

Medicaid Eligible Professionals:

  • Physicians (primarily doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy)
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Certified nurse-midwife
  • Dentist
  • Physician assistant who furnishes services in a Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a physician assistant.

To be eligible for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, providers must also meet one of the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum 30% Medicaid patient volume*
  • Have a minimum 20% Medicaid patient volume, and is a pediatrician *
  • Practice predominantly in a Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Center and have a minimum 30% patient volume attributable to needy individuals

* Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) patients do not count toward the volume criteria.

More information about eligibility is available on the CMS Website Eligibility page. There you will find an Eligibility Widget that will help you determine the program(s) for which you may qualify.

Hospital-based professionals are not eligible for EHR incentives under either Medicare or Medicaid, nor are they subject to future Medicare adjustments for failure to be a meaningful user of a certified EHR. Physicians are considered hospital-based if they perform 90% or more of their services in a hospital setting or emergency room.

To successfully attest to meaningful use, a provider must conduct over 50% of his/her ambulatory care patient visits in a setting in which a certified EHR is used.